Mid April Rides

April 15 – Edgewood Climbs version 2 – 40.7mi with 2602ft climbing

edgewood2After the first loopy ride around Edgewood, I noted a few trails and other side roads I could take. For this second version, I made the most circuitous route I could in the area, adding a bit of climbing and removing a high-traffic section of road too. This turned out to be even more fun and challenging.

April 18 – Climbs through Auburn – 45.3 miles with 3505ft climbing

auburnInstead of climbing through Edgewood again, I decided that the valley around Auburn could make for some good climbing. The valley is all flat, so heading north has no elevation change, but along each edge are steep climbs. I meandered up each one, for the joy of the descent on the other side. My favorite section was in Kent, where there was a 9% grade paved trail in the woods because of a development that was required to make a pedestrian connection. I have a longer version of this route that I hope to try later too, with significantly more climbing still.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

