Two More Strava Challenges Completed

raphaI had forgotten about blogging for a little while, so here’s a somewhat quick recap. I had last posted at the beginning of the October Strava challenge which was to ride 60 hours over 3 weeks and 1 day – about 20 hours a week on average. I thought that commuting would be a good portion of that, and I could just add in some weeknights here and there and find a few group rides on the weekends – that turned out to be hard to do this time of year!

Once daylight savings hits, anything after work is in the dark. I do have a set of dynamo lights that run forever, so light isn’t an issue, but for this challenge there were many other aspects to be challenged by. For 12 days in a row I was riding in some form of precipitation – mostly rain until the last few of snow. That meant that I was also often riding in fog, at night, with critters around, in hilly terrain. Needless to say my hands stayed close to the brakes, and I nearly hit a skunk and a opossum on separate nights.

I would try to get two weeknights a week with 2-4 hour rides each. Weekends I was out 4-6 hours at a time, and only two of those were partially group rides. Turns out that it’s hard to find people willing to bike 80 miles this time of year! But I completed the challenge 60 hours of riding later and promptly stopped biking (other than commutes) until…

…The Rapha Festive 500 challenge came up again. I failed this one in 2010 due to constant snow, cold temps, and lack of willpower. I did finish in 2011 in fewer days than allotted, due to no snow on the roads (though it was darn chilly). For 2012 I finish just in time for a brief New Year’s trip out of town.

It started with a longer first day to get a good portion out of the way. I brought a bike to my 3-day trip to PA for Christmas, and the weather turned sour and I wasn’t able to get enough miles then. That meant the majority of time left would be at night, and so Peter and I met up for a few nights to get in what we could.

With some major snow storms coming down, I fixed up the mountain bike and did nearly a third of the miles at the end on that bike. I thought Peter had bailed, when on the last day I saw that he got out the Ti race bike and shot around Cayuga faster than I could have. It was great to finish again, and see at least one other rider I knew do it as well.

If you made it this far, thanks for reading! I’m sure Strava will whip up some new challenges in 2013!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

